Live Streaming from Michigan State University

Momenta streaming from MSU last night! Photo by Nana Shi

Dear friends from far and wide,

Greetings from East Lansing, Michigan!

The Momenta Quartet has been in residence at Michigan State University since Friday, performing as part of the university’s “Latin is America” Festival and working with student composers. Last night we performed on a lecture recital about the Mexican composer Julián Carrillo. It was also live streamed but we found out a bit too late to spread the word.

Luckily, tomorrow’s mixed program of contemporary Latin American composers is being live streamed, too! We hope you can join us:

Time: 7:30pm EST

Momenta Quartet with pianist Vicky Chow

Arthur Kampela (b. 1960, Brazil): Bridges for solo viola (1998)
Stephanie Griffin, viola

João Pedro Oliveira (b. 1959, Portugal/Brazil): Magma for solo violin and electronics (2014)
Alex Shiozaki, violin

Cergio Prudencio (b. 1955, Bolivia): Transfiguraciones for String Quartet, written for Momenta

Joaquín Orellana (b. 1937, Guatemala): String Quartet No. 2 “Frater Ignotus” (1967)

Intermission (make some popcorn!)

Arthur Kampela: Speech for solo cello (1998)
Michael Haas, cello

César Iván Potes (b. 1957, Colombia): Surri Bachra Noscia: Homage (2016) for solo violin and electronics
Emilie-Anne Gendron, violin

Alberto Ginastera (1916-1983, Argentina): Piano Quintet, Op. 29 (1963)
With Vicky Chow, piano

We hope you can join us in cyberspace for this unique concert and hope to see you all soon!